Better

Today was a good day. This is particularly delightful as it had all the makings of quite a crappy day – I woke up at 4 again (so over that!) and all the kids were home as the big boys’ school was closed, which I had forgotten about (hooray for chatty crossing guards or we may well have discovered the closure at the shuttered gates this morning; sobriety not doing anything for my diary management yet, apparently) and I had scheduled the little’s checkup not expecting to have the others with me. The thing is, even though I was really tired, and I am rubbish with no sleep – despite years and years of 3am practice – I am definitely… calmer. I read something today in “This Naked Mind” (Annie Grace) to the effect that although we don’t notice it, drinkers are basically in withdrawal all the time that we are not actually drinking, leading to feelings of restlessness and discomfort (I am seriously paraphrasing here) and as I read it I thought “OH! That’s it! That’s what I don’t have!” Just being in my skin feels so much easier and it is translating into a much more peaceful way of being and parenting. We got to the doctor in plenty of time, I had remembered water and snacks so we could head straight to the playground afterwards and then I was able to just be there for almost two hours – much longer than I had planned on staying. The amazing thing was that my being “present” and not distracted or crabby actually resulted in the boys needing me less. They just got on with being there and playing together, and it ended up being a really relaxing and lovely morning for me, rather than an unplanned disruption to be endured. I really needed this day (18!) and am so grateful for it.

PS Big thank you to the people visiting and reading and commenting on my posts. The last couple of weeks have been a LOT and I don’t really feel comfortable talking to any real-life people about it yet. My husband has been lovely but is also a little non-plussed as my epiphany and decision seemed to come about really suddenly (although in truth it has been coming for some time.) I so appreciate your companionship and encouragement and wisdom and experience – thank you! 

x

4 thoughts on “Better”

  1. This made me smile. I am proud of you for being able to recognize and acknowledge the positive changes occurring in your life. Every small thing and day is worth celebrating. Blessings to you!

    Like

    1. Oh my word, thank you so much, Cynthia. I was playing around with the WP app and found a tab with comments to be approved- which I had totally missed somehow. Thanks for reading and your kind wishes- these sober days are worth celebrating indeed. Blessings to you, too! xx

      Like

  2. I’m so glad you had a *good* day!

    On just being there-isn’t that a fantastic feeling? Just being able to BE there. No worrying about where your next drink is, or if there’s enough of it, or how to hide it. Just sitting and being. I’m so happy for you!
    P

    Like

Leave a Reply

